World’s best therapy dog mom

September 15, 2009 at 1:21 pm 24 comments

Mom and I can wear the same clothes.

Mom and I can wear the same clothes.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized.

Full body Hug Encinitas Library friend

24 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Michele Yeaton  |  September 16, 2009 at 8:39 am

    What a great photo – so much love!

    Reply
    • 2. baxieboo  |  October 31, 2009 at 8:50 pm

      Michele, Thanks for all your support, Baxter’s beautiful engraved rock, the card, the poem…all your understanding. I love you, your father’s wife

      Reply
  • 3. Julie's Raw Ambition  |  October 6, 2009 at 11:41 am

    Besides Baxter being an angel on earth, he has got to be the most cuddly adorable dog I have ever seen! What breed is he? You must get asked this question all the time! I love you Baxter!

    Reply
    • 4. baxieboo  |  October 31, 2009 at 8:49 pm

      He’s a “Luv” breed….a golden chow…chow and golden retriever. What a mix, eh? Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 5. Marisa Silva  |  October 7, 2009 at 9:32 am

    I love you Baxter.

    I had a breast cancer in may and today was my last chemo.
    Now I’ll start radiotheraphy.

    I’m a brazillian who is living in Qatar.And I have 2 chihuahuas.
    I’m a dog lover.

    You are lovelly.
    Hugs.
    Marisa.

    Reply
  • 6. Baxter, The World's Best Therapy Dog | beingstray.com  |  October 19, 2009 at 12:34 pm

    […] that demonstrate the magical connection Baxter made with individuals at the end of their life. Visit Baxter at his website and become his friend on Facebook at Baxter […]

    Reply
  • 7. Henry, New Orleans  |  October 20, 2009 at 10:50 am

    I just saw a video of Baxter for the first time on Facebook last night and was touched. I went to share that video with my friends at work only to find that he has passed. As I sit teary eyed for you, I pray for God to give you the strength to move on knowing that Baxter has touched so many lives.

    Reply
  • 8. Susan  |  October 22, 2009 at 4:45 pm

    May you rest in peace Baxter for all you gave to the world.

    Reply
    • 9. pam  |  October 26, 2009 at 1:17 pm

      What a beautiful and touching story. I wish I had known of Baxter before hearing of his passing. My dog is not a CTD but she does visit the elderly at our local retirement home as did my other dog before her death at age 16. I only wish Baxter had been with you from the start but I guess there was a reason that you finally and thankfully found each other. My dog is a rescue also. She was 20 months when I got her with no signs of severe abuse but still took time to gain her trust. Peace be with you.

      Reply
  • 10. franca italia  |  October 23, 2009 at 2:32 pm

    baxter ti voglio bene !!!! un altro angelo nel cielo ,il più splendente…perchè anche gli animali vanno in paradiso …lo stesso che Dio ha creato per noi…e la ti ritroveremo dolce e buono come solo tu e tutti i cagnolini sapete essere.Senza di voi la vita dell’uomo sarrebbe come una lunga notte senza la luce tremula e paziente delle stelle !!!!

    Reply
  • 11. Linda, Rancho Mirage  |  October 26, 2009 at 11:30 am

    May you be at peace, thank you, Baxter, good dog….

    Reply
  • 12. Monica  |  October 26, 2009 at 1:24 pm

    Hi Melissa: Be sure that you have an angel right know who protects and cares you…I always see in my dogs the eyes of God, and I believe that God send us little angels to make our lives happy and with a goal.
    Thanks for your time with Baxter and all the comfort and heal for many people in last 19 years.
    Big hug for u in this special moments.
    Mónica

    Reply
    • 13. baxieboo  |  October 31, 2009 at 8:47 pm

      Baxter was so pure and full of love in this troubled world we live in. He brought calmness to many storms.

      Reply
  • 14. kathie bolen  |  October 26, 2009 at 1:40 pm

    Thank God for giving us these special animals. Cross the rainbow bridge Baxter. I adopted a pup from a shelter after my husband passed last yr. She can’t fill the void but, she has been a blessing and I hope more people adopt these animals that need homes and you never know when you will get a Baxter. IWhen he made the first person happy he truly earned his way in his life. Remember GOD created us all and he is watching what we are doing to his critters.

    Reply
    • 15. baxieboo  |  October 31, 2009 at 8:46 pm

      I have so many empty spots to fill since Baxter, but I’m not ready to rescue…yet…but I will one day. Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
      • 16. MJ  |  November 3, 2009 at 8:50 am

        Melissa, It has been 2 years since I lost my beloved Gretel and I’m still not ready, she was so special to me, sometimes even now when I come home I miss her so much not being at the door waiting for me. Even my son says sometimes when he comes over he can almost hear her bark, welcoming him.

  • 17. gweneth  |  October 26, 2009 at 3:03 pm

    baxter , I never met you , but I love you . you did so much for others , you truly were a wonderful dog ! I hope you meet my beautiful scottish terier Fiona ,she was 10 , & died one month ago ,she is waiting at the RAINBOW BRIDGE for me . I miss her so .! I do believe that dogs can be ANGELS ! ! !

    Reply
    • 18. baxieboo  |  October 31, 2009 at 8:45 pm

      That’s a wonderful line for the world, “I never met you, but I love you.” I’ll have to repeat that one. Thanks, Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 19. Richard Burke  |  October 26, 2009 at 5:37 pm

    I was so sorry to hear of Baxter’s passing. How lucky the angels are now!
    I was fortunate enough to have Baxter and his mom and dad visit my branch library at Scripps Ranch last April for a presentation on what he did as a therapy dog. He completely charmed the audience and staff alike!
    What a sweet, peaceful and gentle soul with such a huge heart.
    A cherished treaure is of me i holding Baxter,
    To Baxter’s mom and dad, our prayers are with you. To Baxter, well, I can imagine you enjoying the angels as you romp, swim, and play….and your soul continues to shine just as brightly.

    We are surely all better for having known him, even though it was brief. Thank you Baxter, for sharing your special self with us.

    Richard Burke, Library Branch Manager

    Reply
  • 20. linda beiermeister  |  October 29, 2009 at 3:01 pm

    i just saw the video of baxter i am a dog lover and it just touch me so much that i just sit and cryed we need more dogs like him for the young and old baxter isa resting now in peace and god bless the owner who took him him god bless you baxter

    Reply
    • 21. baxieboo  |  October 31, 2009 at 8:44 pm

      Right now, I can’t watch that video without wailing. He was beyond wonderful. Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 22. ray  |  October 31, 2009 at 6:05 pm

    you were so lucky to have baxter in your life.he touched so many people with love.
    I read the story in our local paper and just wanted to say
    sorry for your loss.

    Reply
    • 23. baxieboo  |  October 31, 2009 at 8:42 pm

      I was very lucky to be Baxter’s caretaker for so long. I adored him w/all the resources that I have. Thank you for your note. Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 24. Cathy Smith  |  November 3, 2009 at 10:35 am

    Today I saw the article in our newspaper about Baxter. I went to You Tube and brought up your website and was brought to tears. What a blessing Baxter was. It amazes me what therapy dogs do. I wish you the very best when you get your next dog. Thank you for sharing Baxter’s life with us. I’m requesting Moments With Baxter for Christmas. God bless you. Cathy

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Most Recent Posts


