Coming soon…

September 6, 2008 at 7:22 am 17 comments

Baxter’s blog is coming soon!

Light Up A Life Event
Light Up A Life

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

17 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Baxter  |  September 9, 2008 at 5:50 am

    Baxter went to see Dr. Hackett, his veterinarian, today. He has
    been unsteady, falling often, landing on his rear as he tries un
    successfully to navigate curbs, bumps in the grass, and uneven
    turf. He received his first of a series of adaquon shots for his
    severe, debilitating arthritis. I keep telling him that I want him to
    be here for his 1st paw signing of his book, but I’ll understand
    if he can’t make it. I want him to be happy and feeling well. I’m
    doing all I know to do, trying to read his silence, to put words
    on his pain, and to identify the problem areas that need to be
    addressed by a specilaist. I won’t give up until he does.

    He went this evening to Pomerado Hospital in Poway to get
    his badge, to become official to volunteer. He was very happy
    to smile at the camera lens, ears perky, and spirit high. His
    photo is very cute.

    Everyone and anyone who saw him this evening at the hospital
    petted him, made over him, and smiled at him. He is indeed a
    real show stopper.

    I love Baxter and so does everyone else.

    Reply
  • 2. melissa  |  October 13, 2008 at 3:04 am

    Baxter has just finished a series of 8 shots for his arthritis. Going
    forward, he will now only reeived one a month. I’m really glad, too,
    because with each shot, he seemed to wince and struggle with
    the pain of the injection. If I could distract him with his hypo
    allergenic treats then all went smoothly. I’m so grateful that food
    still entices him.

    Besides that traditional form of therapy, Baxter went for his
    first formal doggie massage. He really enjoyed the serenity
    room where the lights were dim, the candles flickered, and the
    waterfall gently trickled. He was still and accommodating, allow
    ing Ann, the professional masseuse to stretch, rub, and deeply
    press those trigger points. He kissed her when she was finished and seem disappointed when it was time to go.

    The next day, he went for his first water rehab treatment with
    Trish. She hooked up his life preserver and eased hin into the
    pool where he swam and paddled, finally using those back
    legs which have been perpetually stiff. I hung over the edge
    of the pool, leaning in to him, cheering him on as if he were
    my child having his first swim lesson. I was so proud of him
    for making the effort, not whining, and being brave. Good job
    Mr. B.

    Reply
  • 3. Brenda Rogers  |  October 19, 2008 at 4:53 pm

    Baxter visited my Dad, Charles (Gene) Rogers in the HCC in Hillcrest San Diego a few weeks ago. He added joy to my Dad’s final days. Some of his last lucid moments were talking about the dogs who visited him there, especially Baxter. He passed away Friday evening at home with a postcard picture of Baxter next to him on the nightstand.

    Reply
    • 4. baxieboo  |  December 22, 2008 at 7:11 pm

      Hello Brenda,

      I’m sorry to hear about your dad. I hope this holiday season isn’t too difficult for you. I wish that I could give you therapy in this message, but Mom says
      that it has to be an interface, whatever that is. She’s always using these big words. I will try to send you love in my heart. I hope you feel a warm spot
      all of a sudden. If you do, that’s me.

      Much love,

      Baxter

      Reply
  • 5. Connie Peterson  |  November 14, 2008 at 9:19 am

    Baxter and his family are such a blessing to all that meet them. God Bless!

    Reply
    • 6. baxieboo  |  December 22, 2008 at 7:09 pm

      Hello Nurse Connie,

      Thank you for your warm comments. Mom tells me that you’re so sweet to here every time you see her. Thanks for hugging her. She can’t get enough
      hugs; I guess that’s why she’s always hugging me. Love begets love!

      Happy Holidays. See you soon in the ICC.

      Hugs,

      Baxter

      Reply
  • 7. melissa  |  November 17, 2008 at 2:41 am

    this is from Baxter himself:

    I’m beginning to feel like my mom has become a soccer mom. Be-
    cause I can’t walk very well these days, mom now takes me 3 days a week to swim therapy with Trish. It’s really fun unless it’scold and the wind is blowing. When we get there, mom and I
    greet everyone. I love meeting all the dogs there. None of them
    are as old as I, but they all have some problem just like me. The
    only difference is that I have alot of problems. There’s one dog
    in particular that I really like. I think his name is Cody. He’s a
    Siberian Husky and very young. For some reason, we just really connect.

    The other day, mom dressed me in my wet suit and my life
    jacket. As I stood there, I just couldn’t resist saying hi to Cody.
    I got so excited that I just fell over. Everyone laughed and
    thought it was so cute. I wasn’t embarrassed, I’m used to
    falling down. Mom just picks me back up, dusts me off, and
    we continue as if nothing ever happened.

    Anyway, I love swimming with Trish because she doesn’t
    go too fast. She’s patient with me, but firm. I get to rest for
    a few seconds after I swim several laps, Mom is like a cheer
    leader, encouraging me to move fast and furiously. She’s
    always telling me how proud she is of me. That makes me
    feel really great. Sometimes, though, she embarrasses me
    because she tells me how cute I am right in front of everyone
    else at the pool.

    After 30 minutes of my exercise, mom wraps me in a towel
    and lets me sun on the doggie lounger for a few minutes
    before she gathers my treats and water and takes me
    home.

    Mom ordered me a quad wheelchair and I’m having some
    trouble liking it. I guess it’s like a walker for an older person.
    I’m just not psychologically ready for this contraption. And,
    I don’t want to draw more attention to myself. Already, people
    stop mom and ask what kind of dog I am. Mom tell them I’m a
    love breed. If they even mumble the word, ‘mutt’, she covers
    my ears so I won’t be offended. It’s kind of funny how she
    wants to protect me.

    Oh, did I tell you? I voted. Yea, I’m 18 as you know and this
    was the first year that I could vote. Mom put one of those
    “I voted” stickers on my hospice ID badge. I wore it all day.
    I was so proud. It was really neat because mom and dad
    took me to the polls in my little red wagon and put the American
    flag in the corner. It was like I was in a convertible, the flag
    waving in the breeze and the wind hitting my face as dad
    pulled me to my destination: THE POLLS. Wow what a day!

    Mom keeps this calendar for our schedule. On Tues., I’m
    going to be on the TV, Channel 9 @8a.m. I’m looking forward
    to meeting all the folks at the station. Maybe one of them will
    want to hold me. I love being held.

    Well, it’s about my bedtime now. I’ll write you guys soon.
    Love, Baxter

    Reply
  • 8. Heather Wade  |  December 2, 2008 at 12:04 am

    Hi “Baxter”…it’s one of your favorite nurses (Heather). I miss you and your mom soooo much and was hoping to see you when I am in San Diego for Christmas🙂 Good luck on your paw signings and give your mom/dad and all the Doctors and nurses at your vet clinic a big kiss for me🙂 LOVE YA!!!

    Reply
    • 9. baxieboo  |  December 22, 2008 at 7:08 pm

      Hey Tech Heather,

      Mom told me that you’ll be here for part of the Christmas holidays. Will you please call me? I need my arthritis shot. Maybe Dr. Hackett would allow you
      to give it to me for old times sake. I hope you’re doing well in AZ. I miss you something terrible.

      Love and Hugs,

      Baxie

      Reply
  • 10. Kristi Vanderstock  |  December 10, 2008 at 2:55 am

    I had the honor of meeting Baxter today at SD Hospice. We enjoyed an hour together and he received a massage and an acupunctue treatment. He is one of the sweetest, warmest souls I have ever had the privilege to meet! Thank you Baxter, for all that you give, unconditionally, straight from the heart. You are a true blessing!

    Reply
    • 11. baxieboo  |  December 22, 2008 at 7:07 pm

      Hey Kristi,

      Thank you for your comments. I felt the same way about you. Mom tells me that when someone shows me that much love that they’re only seeing
      their reflection in me. I’m glad that we got to become fast friends. I hope to see you again soon.

      Love and hugs,

      Baxter

      Reply
  • 12. Wendy Bill  |  December 11, 2008 at 6:45 pm

    “Moments with Baxter” is an incredible book that I really enjoyed reading. As I told Melissa, the author, “it was like I was there every moment with him”. The book brought realization and strong emotions that animals have such a true gift to comfort and love humans. I am blessed to have met such a wonderful, special dog and look forward to seeing him on his walks. Baxter, you are so loved.

    Love your #1 Fan, Wendy Bill

    Reply
    • 13. baxieboo  |  December 22, 2008 at 7:05 pm

      Hi Wendy,

      Mom said that she saw you today @the gym. I call it “my” gym, too, because I’m there so often. She also told me that you’re painting a portrait of me.
      Wow, that’s exciting. I hope that I will recognize myself. Just kidding! If you need for me to pose for you, I’ll be glad to do that. Mom is very busy with
      me these days, but I’m confident we could arrange that.

      Mom really likes you.

      Love and Hugs,

      Baxter

      Reply
  • 14. SABRA LANDE  |  January 15, 2009 at 2:04 am

    i AM SO PROUD OF YOU, YOUR MOM, AND YOUR DAD. I HAVE BEEN HEARING ABOUT YOU FOR YEARS. HOPE TO FINALLY BE ABLE TO MEET YOU IN SAN DIEGO AT THE PAW SIGNING ON SUNDAY. YOU ARE SUCH AN INSPIRATION TO ME AND MY TWO YEAR OLD DOGGIE, SALVADOR DALI. SOMEDAY PERHAPS YOU WILL GET TO MEET HIM. MEANWHILE,I SEND A BIG HUG.

    Reply
  • 15. victoria lee  |  January 20, 2009 at 6:14 am

    Hi, baxter

    Do you remember me? I hope so! It’s me Victoria!
    It was my big pleasure to meet you and your parents yesterday at Borders bookstore.
    As I told you that it was just mystical that I had to go that last Tuesday crossing the border to SD airport and listening to your mom’s voice on KPBS radio’s show, my heart was just beating and beating and I couldn’t hold my tears.
    So finally yesterday my mom and I went from Tijuana to SD just to meet you and your parents. And you know what? I really think that your parents just are great great person. When I had my Shari for almost 13 years I used to say ” Shari, you have no idea that how much I love you, because I really don’t know how much I love you” so I can feel your parents big and deep love for you.
    Baxter, maybe for your first 2 years you had bad memories but I’m very sure that you’ve already forgotten because of your parents love. Baxter as I said yesterday I’m buddhist so even for this reason we – my mom and me – wanted to go there to chant to you this words NAM-MYOHO-RENGE-KYO for praying for your next life time. I’m very positive that for your next life time you will be born as a human been and meet your parents as Pinocchio did with his dad. And I think your parents give you some magic facial massage, because you look so PUPPY!
    Baxter I’m very sorry that yesterday my mom and I cried so much, but it was not our intention to make your parents sad. So please tell to your parents that Victoria really apologize, also even your mom invited us to have a dinner together but we couldn’t go.
    Because you looked so tired, so I decided not to go, but please tell her for next time I really want to!
    Baxter, one more thing, I can’t read your book not yet, because I cried too much so my eyes got vey swollen…..
    Baxter, it’s late and time to go to bed.
    So have a very sweet dream and my mom and I pray for your good health,OK? Tell your parents that they also should take care their health, I know your parents look so goooood, I love you!

    Reply
  • 16. victoria lee  |  February 28, 2009 at 5:41 am

    hellooooo, baxter *0*

    long time no talk.. so sorry, I was just very busy between my work and my religious activity here in Tijuana.
    How are you? I really like your red sweather. how are your parents? You must be very exicited because of your coming birthday,aren’t you?
    You know what? I really miss you!!!!
    Hope to see you someday!!!!
    Please take care of yourself and your parents.

    Reply
  • 17. melissa  |  March 29, 2009 at 12:37 am

    Hello Victoria, I’m sorry that I didn’t get to see you on my birthday.
    Maybe you can keep up with my whereabouts on my web
    page: http://www.momentswithbaxter.com

    Hope to see you soon. My parents are fine.

    Love,

    Baxter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

September 2008
M T W T F S S
    Dec »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Most Recent Posts


