Baxter’s little buddy lives on

November 7, 2009 at 10:48 pm 21 comments

Baxter and his little buddyBaxter’s little buddy was with him to the end.

You can get your own mini-Baxter in time for Christmas by ordering from his web site.

ALL proceeds will be donated to animal shelters.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Melissa and Baxter’s final picture

21 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Toni  |  November 9, 2009 at 7:38 pm

    I would like to order a Baxter little buddy and his book. What is the URL of his website?

    God Bless You Baxter! You are among the angels but your spirit will always be with us.

    Reply
  • 3. Missie Benner  |  November 10, 2009 at 7:41 pm

    I just read the story about Baxter in my local newpaper. I started crying reading the news article, continued through the you tube video and still haven’t stopped as I write this. Our family lost my dear sister in 2007 and her final days were spent in a hospice. When I stayed there with her, I remember her wishing so badly to be able to go outside. She said it would be such a treat to be able to go outside. I remember wishing so badly I could do something to bring some kind of temporary distraction or relief of what her life was right then other than just be there with her. That’s what Baxter was to all those people! He was God’s creation, brought to their lap. Thank you thank you for what you and Baxter did for those precious hurting people. What a beautiful ministry and thanks for the good cry….it’s been a long while.
    Blessings to you,
    Missie Benner,
    Chippewa Falls WI

    Reply
    • 4. baxieboo  |  November 11, 2009 at 2:00 am

      Oh Missie, So sorry to hear about your sister. I do understand, though, about the distraction. It’s really a necessity in that environment or
      one can become overwhelmed with sorrow, desperation, and darkness. Baxter was able to replace that pall of grief. He was refreshing,
      illuminating, and almost exciting. On so many occasions, patients, family and friends would say, “Baxter made my day”.

      Reply
  • 5. Ale y Jacko  |  November 11, 2009 at 10:35 pm

    Dios mio estoy consternada al saber lo que fue la vida de ésta hermosura de perro que mas bien era un ángel entre nosotros y que solo el supo hacer sentir bien al peor de los enfermos, Estoy admirada, estoy impresionada nunca pensé que un perro durara tantos años, es increible ojala y hubiera durado 50 mas. Dios lo tiene en su santa gloria, yo tambien me siento triste y cuando vi sus 2 videos en _Yt 1.- Momento con Baxter 2.- Tributo a Baxter los agregue a mis favoritos en YT, pero mas que nada ésta historia es para compartirla con el mundo, porque de él se aprendió a ver la vida de otra manera…. Dios lo bendiga!!!! Eres y serás el unico perro de mayor edad en el mundo y con ese don del amor.. Abrazos y saludos a todos los que saben de ésta hermosa historia. ;(

    Reply
  • 6. Sarah  |  November 16, 2009 at 12:39 am

    I am so sorry about the loss of your wonderful dog. I do believe that God gives us animals, especially dogs, as unique, wonderful gifts and Baxter seems like among the most wonderful ever created. On a personal note, Baxter’s blog is such a source of comfort for me (although tears are pouring down my cheeks)–you see, my grandmother just entered hospice care and we sadly anticipate that her time will come within the next few weeks or months. I am so passionate about dogs and reading about Baxter’s story is inspiring me to volunteer with a therapy dog and help people like my grandmother, as they enter from this life to the next.

    Thank you for all that you do. The work and and Baxter did is nothing short of miraculous.

    Reply
    • 7. baxieboo  |  November 16, 2009 at 7:50 am

      Sarah, Thank you for your comments. So sorry about your imminent loss of your grandmother. The cycle of life is difficult to
      embrace, sometimes it feels like torture. With respect to Baxter, now that he’s gone, I can only hope that his story, his book,
      will be the benchmark for therapy dogs across the country, perhaps across the world.
      I would love for Baxter to become “the” model for pet assisted therapy programs and for his book to be the “bible” of just how
      far a dog can go with his love and magic.
      Your connecting with me, your passionate tearful words will hopefully become a part of this movement.

      Melissa, Baxie’s mom

      Reply
  • 8. Chiharu Kane  |  November 16, 2009 at 10:49 pm

    I’ve received Baxter last week!
    He and my doggy son, Prince Cocoa who passed away six months ago, play together every night after we went to bed.
    I can feel it!

    We love you, Baxter.
    You are always on our minds.

    Reply
    • 9. baxieboo  |  November 17, 2009 at 7:15 am

      Hope you like your Baxter and that it loved for a long time. Thank you for your continued support. Melissa

      Reply
  • 10. Didi  |  November 19, 2009 at 8:46 pm

    Thanks for everything, Baxter.
    You are a hero.

    Didi from Brazil

    Reply
    • 11. baxieboo  |  November 20, 2009 at 12:22 am

      Hello Didi from Brazil, You are kind to comment. Melissa, Baxie’s mom

      Reply
  • 12. Peggy  |  November 21, 2009 at 5:56 pm

    I cried like a baby when I watched the video on you tube…. I just finished Moments with Baxter – thank you for writing such a beautiful story and sharing pictures with those of us who did not have the pleasure of meeting him. God bless. You are in my prayers as your loss must be overwhelming….

    Reply
    • 13. baxieboo  |  November 21, 2009 at 6:13 pm

      Thank you Peggy for your support, for reading Baxter’s love story and understanding too well how huge this loss is for me.
      I’ve said this before, but here goes again. Baxter filled me up and it all overflowed into a passionate journey of writing the book.
      He has such a magnamous story to tell and his love can connect so many people. He can make people aware of the powers
      of a dog to heal on all levels of life.

      As full as I was, I became empty when he died. Now, though, each of you is helping to fill some of that emptiness.
      Thank you, thank you. Melissa, Baxie’s mom

      Reply
  • 14. Shasta Kuehl, WI  |  December 1, 2009 at 12:07 am

    Baxter was a role model for me being a CNA, unfortunatly my chow was not therapy dog material. I still have that passion of training and haveing a therapy dog. Baxter still remains a role model and mentor for me and by Panda Roo. Him and Shylo, and their storys and the amazing things they have done are my drive. Panda is a perfect canidate for the elderly and children. She just knows, and it is like night and day. When we are visiting the nursing home she is not a puppy but a listener, at home she is is a puppy. Baxters life has touched mine in so many ways and even though I have never met him except on line. I can only hope to have him and Shylo from WI help Panda in becomeing a therapy dog as well, I know they will guide her, as she guides me.
    I am sorry for your loss, but envy your memories.
    Shasta

    Reply
    • 15. baxieboo  |  December 1, 2009 at 12:17 am

      Hello Shasta,

      Thank you for your story with your dog, Panda Roo. Don’t envy me or anyone else. Just use us as examples of what can be accomplished
      with a gifted dog as Baxter. Remember, I’m going to begin again on this journey. I’m going to have another dog and another experience.
      Baxter is a separate entity, a unique soul who taught me so much and continues to as I write these new stories, as I reflect, and as I
      promote his book. Thank you for your time and passion. Melissa

      Reply
  • 16. Jaime  |  December 8, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    I just found you on Facebook and love your site, your blog and your mission. What wonderful and thoughtful people you are, and what a wonderful and loving creature Baxter will carry on as…

    So nice to meet you, stop by our blog sometime:)

    Jaime Smith

    Reply
    • 17. baxieboo  |  December 8, 2009 at 10:51 pm

      hello jaime, thank you for your kind comments. i’ll check out your site. melissa

      Reply
  • 18. Mary Fox  |  December 13, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    I just finished reading your book and logged onto your site and am so sorry to find that you lost Baxter. My heart goes out to you as I know how you must feel as I lost my beloved Sandy a little terrier mix 2 years ago at age15 1/2. He was my best friend and pal and I miss him terribly.

    He went the way that Baxter did in a way, he was ok until one day he could no longer stand and I knew it was time. My vet came to my house and the end was very peaceful for Sandy.

    The moment I saw Baxter on the internet I fell in love with him. As I look at his little face on the book cover I just love him to bits without ever meeting him. God Bless you for all the love you and Baxter gave to people in need. I pray that each day will be easier for you. I would like to think that maybe Sandy and Baxter are romping across a flower filled field as frisky as young pups.

    Thank you for sharing him with us.

    Mary

    Reply
    • 19. baxieboo  |  December 14, 2009 at 12:47 am

      Hello Mary,

      I am amazed at people like you who reach out and share with me. It’s so very consoling, so very special. Thank you for your kind, thoughtful words
      and for taking out the time to contact me. Too, I appreciate that you read the book and fully understand just how remarkable Baxter was.
      Regards, Melissa

      Reply
  • 20. Howard Tessler  |  December 27, 2009 at 9:37 pm

    Just here to type out my condolences on the passing away of Baxter. Meeting you both at the San Diego Hospice as Soeuth ( Malinny to me ) passed away there in May of this year was a true bright spot for me.

    Now that I am back home, I keep Baxter’s book next to her photos. Many of the people who volunteer with me at Flagler Humane Society have also purchaced your book & for Christmas I received a mini-Baxter from those same volunteers.

    Thanks for sharing him, I know he gave comfort to Malinny during her last days.

    Howard Tessler

    Reply
    • 21. baxieboo  |  December 27, 2009 at 10:11 pm

      Hello Howard,

      What a lovely note to read. Thank you for letting me know that Baxter remains a tender spot in your life. I so appreciate your words.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

November 2009
M T W T F S S
« Oct    
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
30  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

