Baxter’s final picture

October 15, 2009 at 1:53 pm 80 comments

Can you see the surfers out in the waves?

Baxter's final picture, taken October 15, 2009

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

I’m a therapy dog Melissa and Baxter’s final picture

80 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jessica  |  October 15, 2009 at 3:19 pm

    What an angel face! Baxter reminds me of a teddy bear.

    Reply
  • 2. Gina & Tommy Alexander  |  October 15, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Hi Baxter honey xx Yes I see the surfers LOL Thanks for that. You could almost be laying on the cliffs of Newquay :) Got 2 of those books in the post, one for me and one for a very good friend – he cries his eyes out every time he watches your video.
    I see they have a very special signature in the front cover too :) Love you lots Bax
    Gina

    Reply
    • 3. baxieboo  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:44 am

      Thank you for purchasing yet 2 books! And, I am so moved
      that you’re so moved watching Baxter in his videos. Isn’t he
      captivating, magnetizing, and immensely, immeasurably
      huggable and lovable?

      Too, I appreciate your most kind words. They coddle the
      heart.
      Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 4. Michelle  |  October 17, 2009 at 12:14 pm

    This is such a wonderful thing you and Baxter are doing! God bless you!

    Reply
  • 5. LUCI  |  October 17, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    I am so moved by you Baxter, and your mom, and all you have done. I have learned a lot from you. I think you truly deserve the Nobel Peace Prize. You are a hero to many and I am very glad to have known of you. Now that I know where to find you I will visit you often. I want to be more like you, and licked by you! xoxoxo

    Reply
    • 6. baxieboo  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:46 am

      My husband actually got onlline to read about the Nobel
      Peace Prize, hoping that he could take you up on what you
      said and submit Baxter and his love, joy, and comfort
      credentials.
      It was a heart warming suggestion. And, I thank you,

      Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 7. Annie  |  October 17, 2009 at 11:53 pm

    Is everything okay? I read on facebook that this was Baxter’s last photo. I hope everything is alright.

    Reply
  • 8. Lee Ann Maples  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:04 am

    Baxter, as you cross over the Rainbow Bridge, please keep in mind all that are still here who Love you. Although I never met you, I feel as if I know you. Your eyes in your photos were eyes that look out from a very old soul. However, you are so nearly perfect that you may not have to come back again. If you do, I know it will be to help and Love and heal, just as you did this time.

    Love and Blessings – Lee Ann

    Reply
  • 9. Annie  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:10 am

    Melissa, I am so sorry to hear of Baxter’s passing. I am sure there is a huge hole in your heart right now. You were so blessed to have had such a long and loving life with him. He was such a special boy. Words are inadequate. Thanks for sharing your special special boy with the world. God bless you and Baxter.

    Reply
  • 10. Tess  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:13 am

    R.I.P, Baxter. Well done…

    Reply
  • 11. Nicole D'Elena-DeMarco  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:44 am

    Hi!..i just watched a video on facebook about Baxter and it might be an understatement to say that I am IN LOVE!…What an amazing story of kindness and love. Baxter is proof that a dog is a persons best friend!..I have been working in healt care for a long time and my job would be so much easier and mean more to my patients if I could have Baxter with me each day!…He is beautiful and his owners should be so proud they gave he the love and care he needs to help others and shine!

    Reply
  • 12. Allison Crow  |  October 18, 2009 at 8:25 am

    And we all know the love that Baxter gave so many…and I also honor the AMAZING, SOFT, GENTLE and sweet sweet love that Baxter’s mom gave him. Melissa you teach us about truly and deeply loving and honoring our sweet babies and what they bring to us. I’m touched by the ways you loved and cared for your Boy…and as my own Daisy’s heart is failing…I’m inspired to communicate with her about her purpose for these last months…and to love her sweetly and completely like you did Baxter.

    Thanks for sharing yours and Baxter’s story.

    Reply
  • 13. Don Teed  |  October 18, 2009 at 8:43 am

    I’m speechless and sick………………….I’m so sorry….I truly am….I didn’t know until his dad told me……

    Reply
    • 14. baxieboo  |  October 18, 2009 at 8:56 am

      Me too.
      Thank you for your kindness.
      Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 15. Veronica and Emma the Lab  |  October 18, 2009 at 8:52 am

    In our hearts forever Baxter <3 <3 <3

    Reply
  • 16. NormaJean  |  October 18, 2009 at 9:03 am

    My heart is fuller than ever after learning about Baxter. Rest in Peace Baxter. I have a message for you too Baxter’s mom; you gave a wonderful life to Baxter & those Baxter touched. You are a very rare person these days. My prayers go to you, you and Baxter are real angels.

    Reply
  • 17. Pam D  |  October 18, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I am sorry for your loss. I know what a huge hole this must be leaving in your heart ..sad. You and Baxter had a wonderful life together and did so, many good things for others. He will forever be with you, awaiting at the Rainbow bridge to greet u again one day. Thanks for sharing all your wonderful stories on Baxter with us all.

    Reply
  • 18. Ann  |  October 18, 2009 at 10:32 am

    RIP Baxter…the love both you and your mom gave the world was so beautiful….

    Reply
  • 19. Anita York  |  October 18, 2009 at 10:39 am

    So sorry to hear. Just discovered Baxter’s story last week and shared with many people. God bless.

    Anita, Zoey and her own Baxter

    Reply
  • 20. Terri Lee  |  October 18, 2009 at 10:40 am

    this side of heaven is a place called Rainbow Bridge.

    When an animal dies that has been especially close to someone here, that pet goes to Rainbow Bridge.
    There are meadows and hills for all of our special friends so they can run and play together.
    There is plenty of food, water and sunshine, and our friends are warm and comfortable.

    All the animals who had been ill and old are restored to health and vigor; those who were hurt or maimed are made whole and strong again, just as we remember them in our dreams of days and times gone by.
    The animals are happy and content, except for one small thing; they each miss someone very special to them, who had to be left behind.

    They all run and play together, but the day comes when one suddenly stops and looks into the distance. His bright eyes are intent; His eager body quivers. Suddenly he begins to run from the group, flying over the green grass, his legs carrying him faster and faster.

    You have been spotted, and when you and your special friend finally meet, you cling together in joyous reunion, never to be parted again. The happy kisses rain upon your face; your hands again caress the beloved head, and you look once more into the trusting eyes of your pet, so long gone from your life but never absent from your heart.

    Then you cross Rainbow Bridge together….

    Author unknown…

    Reply
  • 21. Pau Pelaez  |  October 18, 2009 at 10:53 am

    So Sorry!
    Im So Sad, because this…
    i knew of him… only few days ago, and i love him, a lot, for the first video that i saw,… and then, i look for him on the net, and i can see all the stories…
    He was a warrior… he was amazzing!
    God Bless you and him, a lot!

    Reply
  • 22. Debbie  |  October 18, 2009 at 11:33 am

    I was totally captivated by Baxter and his ministry and I am deeply saddened he too has passed. Baxter is a once in a lifetime animal who has touched the hearts and souls of many people and will leave indellible pawprints on this world.

    I am so sorry for your loss, to have Baxter all of these years as a part of your family was a genuine blessing and I know you will take comfort that he had a wonderful and long life bringing comfort to those who needed him as much as he needed them.

    What a treasured gem you are Baxter, RIP, well done good and faithful servant. :*(

    Reply
  • 23. patty  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    We are so sorry for your loss. God Bless Baxter. I have a 12 yo JRT who has CHF and for almost a year now is staying strong to be with us and have told him to go when the Angels come. Now I can tell my Badger to go when Baxter is by his side to guide him through this process.
    My heart aches for you and yours!
    WOFF,
    Patty

    Reply
  • 24. marjorie & dudley (cocker spaniel)  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    Baxter has so many people and pets waiting for him with open arms. I think that’s a wonderful image.

    Reply
  • 25. Florence Kelly from Canada  |  October 18, 2009 at 12:38 pm

    I am so sorry for your loss, I loss my boy in July, and my heart still aches for him.. Your love and effection for your boy was truely amazing,,, and he was so blessed to have a Mom like you.. You and your family are in my thoughts and prayers….We love you Baxter.. I hope you make friends with my Beau at Rainbow Bridge.xoxo

    Reply
  • 26. Jennifer Melnick Carota  |  October 18, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    My heart and prayers go out to you and your family during this difficult time. His story and inspiration will live on in our hearts…he was truly the best. Thank you for sharing his journey with us…what a beautiful gift! God Bless~xo

    Reply
  • 27. Dawn Johnson  |  October 18, 2009 at 1:17 pm

    I just became acquainted with Baxter’s story via a touching video I saw on Friday, the day of his passing. I am so very sorry for your loss, Melissa. Baxter’s love for you will never fade, and his pawprint will be forever on your heart and hundreds of others. God bless you with comfort and peace.

    Reply
  • 28. marjorie & dudley (cocker spaniel)  |  October 18, 2009 at 1:45 pm

    i’m thinking of baxter with so many people & pets waiting for him with loving open arms; i think that’s just a wonderful image ~

    Reply
  • 29. V  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:00 pm

    You will be missed, Baxter. You touched my life in ways I cannot convey in mere words. God bless you, little boy. God has given you wings, now you can fly free!! <3

    Reply
  • 30. Michele Yeaton  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:20 pm

    All of my thoughts and energy are with you, Melissa and Dad. Saul and I have been reflecting about Baxter and telling Liam about him since we found out about Baxter’s death. You two were awesome parents to Baxter. Right up until the end of his life you’ve given him so many gifts. His legacy continues. I love you.

    Reply
  • 31. wwwjr  |  October 18, 2009 at 2:34 pm

    What breed of dog was Baxter?

    Reply
    • 32. baxieboo  |  October 18, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      Baxter was part chow and part golden retriever

      Reply
  • 33. Rosanne  |  October 18, 2009 at 3:12 pm

    Good Boy, Baxter

    Reply
  • 34. Taki  |  October 18, 2009 at 5:16 pm

    As a hospice doc and guardian of several rescue dogs I was deeply touched by your story. Thank you for your gift. I am sharing Baxter’s story with everyone I know so that he may live on in all of us.

    Reply
  • 35. kerry  |  October 18, 2009 at 6:40 pm

    my name is kerry, i live in sioux falls, sd, and since i got out of the army many yrs ago, ive become a very cold and unfeelin person, that was until i read your story, i have cat but we had a st berard named cultzy, this dog would walk into praked and look at u and say ok, ur turn, he was so big little kids from around the neighborhood, would come by and climb on his back, and he would take the kids around in the yard, so let me know how icaqn purchase your book, i dont have a checkin acct, but im sure theres away to get that book, again im VERY sorry for your loss !!! im fairly certain he’s in heaven running and playin, just like all dogs !!!

    Reply
  • 36. Kevin  |  October 18, 2009 at 7:18 pm

    What a wonderful, wonderful soul. Thank you for all the inspiration, the assistance and love! You will be dearly missed even by those of us who were never fortunate enough to meet you!

    kevin

    Reply
  • 37. Matthew  |  October 18, 2009 at 9:18 pm

    I received Baxter’s book on Thursday. I had a great cat named Baxter. What wonderful work Baxter did.

    I had been thinking about going back to nursing to be a hospice nurse. Now I am important at work, but reading Baxter’s book has shown me that I need to do important work, not be important at work.

    Bless the three of you.

    Reply
  • 38. Fiona  |  October 18, 2009 at 9:28 pm

    Rest In Peace, dear, sweet Baxter.

    Thinking of you, Baxter’s Mum and Dad.

    From, Fiona and Harry (Little ginger kitty)

    Reply
  • 39. Cathirose  |  October 18, 2009 at 11:08 pm

    Baxter, I was blessed to know you and to look into your gentle eyes…I will love you always…you are a true angel. Melissa and Dennis, you are the mom and dad of an angel…thank you for the beautiful photo…Baxter now watches over me every day…

    Reply
  • 40. Janice  |  October 18, 2009 at 11:56 pm

    Melissa,

    I just recently learned about Baxter and the therapy work he was doing. I can only imagine how your heart is breaking but know that our thoughts are with you. Our furry children never trully leave us and you will one day be with Baxter again.

    Hugs,
    Janice

    Reply
  • 41. michelle  |  October 19, 2009 at 10:43 am

    if this old world only had many more baxters and baxters mommies it would be a wonderful place! this is proof that there are people in the world who truely care and have a heart filled compassion for life. God is going to bless you so abundantly you will have overflowing cups of joy and peace from above! God Bless The Family of Baxter!

    Reply
  • 42. Stella Kenton  |  October 19, 2009 at 11:00 am

    Daryn Kagen just tweeted the video of Baxter in the hospital. I fell in love with him over the computer screen and I can only imagine what power he had in person. How sad to find out that his work has come to an end. He was obviously so, so, well taken care of and loved. That’s all they ask of us, a bowl of water, a little food and love. And, even when we fall so very short they love us all the same.

    Melissa, so sorry for your loss, I have a little beagle who follows me like a shadow and though it’s annoying sometimes I know life wouldn’t be the same if I turned around and he wasn’t there.

    R.I.P. Baxter, I will never forget your eyes!

    Love,
    Stella

    Reply
  • 43. Robin Cooper-Wood  |  October 19, 2009 at 11:12 am

    I was blessed to meet Baxter at the Borders in Carmel Mtn. Melissa and Dennis were sharing him and their wonderful book about Baxter. They let me sit with Baxter and he laid on my lap. I just started crying and couldn’t stop. His depth of comfort and sweetness was extraordinary. I’m so thankful I bought his book and the Bussey’s took my photo with Baxter. I will treasure them both. Thank you, Baxter for sharing your love with others. You made a huge impact on many people. I’ll never forget you.
    Love, Robin Cooper-Wood

    Reply
  • 44. Lee Mersino  |  October 19, 2009 at 3:25 pm

    Baxter will be missed. I put his story on my face book and everyone loved it and cried. He is and was a Angel from GOD. We will always be with you watching over you and yours.

    Lee Mersino

    Reply
  • 45. kcadi@aol.com  |  October 19, 2009 at 4:46 pm

    I only just learned about Baxter from reading Daryn Kagan’s blog this morning. What a wonderful and beautiful story. My heart aches thinking about your loss…I lost my amazing cat Elber 7 months ago, when he was approx. 24 years old. I would like to imagine Elber being part of Baxter’s greeting committee. You and Baxter are in my thoughts and prayers.

    Sincerely,

    Holly Lebed

    Reply
  • 46. Jane Miller  |  October 19, 2009 at 5:34 pm

    I am so sorry to hear this, but you know he is in the arms of the angels now and is still comforting all in heaven. Godspeed Baxter.

    Reply
  • 47. Lori Guthrie  |  October 19, 2009 at 6:51 pm

    We just learned of Baxter last week and smiled and wept when we watched your video. I have a daughter with an incurable illness and I know first hand how a dog like Baxter can change lives – a dog like Baxter changed our Anna’s – she never reached for anything or could move her muscles on her own and one day we laid her beside a big white Samoyed therapy dog and her life changed – Anna loved watching Baxter’s video – and hugs one of her many (over 300) stuffed dogs she has that she has now named Baxter. Well done Baxter- Well done! Go run and play now!

    Reply
  • 48. Lisa (The Pet Book Lady)  |  October 19, 2009 at 7:13 pm

    Thank you Baxter for all that you have done for so many souls. Enjoy the Rainbow Bridge little fella.

    Reply
  • 49. Linda  |  October 19, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    Dear Dennis & Melissa,
    I met the 3 of you at a Hospice open house earlier this year.
    I immediately fell in love with Baxter when I bent down to hug and kiss him. I felt his soft fur and I knew that I was in the presence of an angel. When I found out about his passing, my heart was aching. You two were the best parents a dog could have, and he was a lucky dog. You were lucky to have found him, he’s very special and he’s just a teddy bear kind of guy.
    I know that he can never be replaced, and that it will take a lifetime to get over the loss of that sweet little soul.
    I bought his book and I will love and cherish it forever.
    God Bless You All……
    I care……and share…..your sadness…..
    Linda

    Reply
  • 50. gwenaelle  |  October 20, 2009 at 4:26 am

    I am so sorry for Baxter and for you …I lost my Naya, my therapydog 2 years ago …I am thinking about her each day …These dogs are so amazing, so special …My heart is with you …Kisses. Gwenaelle from Canada and France.

    Reply
  • 51. Claudia  |  October 20, 2009 at 9:56 am

    I am so sorry to hear of Baxter’s passing. I met him in once while in San Diego – you were in Alcazar gardens parking lot. I was so taken with him, that I stopped and asked you about him. He was such a wonderful spirit. I’ve never forgotten him.

    He is an angel. Take care.

    Claudia

    Reply
  • 52. Shannon Smith  |  October 20, 2009 at 2:59 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear of Baxter’s passing. What an amazing life he led and how blessed you all were to have one another.

    I have three elderly pets in my home right now and marvel in their love of life. I love seeing the moments of joy in their faces, when they look like youngsters again, and try not to think of the days when those moments are fewer and fewer until they are gone.

    I have many pets on the other side of the Rainbow Bridge. I hope that they will get a chance to run and play with Baxter there. And, oh the joy we will all feel when we are reunited once again.

    Thanks for sharing Baxter with all of us. He has been an amazing ambassador and a testimony to the wonderful potential in every unwanted pet in our country.

    Reply
  • 53. karen lyons kalmenson  |  October 20, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    baxter you have touched us
    with your loving face
    and now you are welcomed
    into god’s embrace
    there are angels many
    but none shine like you
    they are with you in heaven
    returning your love
    so true
    and those of us left here
    to mourn and to grieve
    we will never forget you
    this you can believe
    in wonder, in gratitude
    of you and the lessons
    you have taught
    as you graced those
    departing, their
    last battle fought

    Reply
  • 54. Katie  |  October 20, 2009 at 9:55 pm

    Melissa, There are so many things I want to say to you. And somehow I am sure you know them all. I only recently came to know of Baxter. I saw him on Facebook and was brought to tears. You see…I have a chow and golden retriever mix that is 14 years old. Baxter touched my soul. I am heartbroken that he is no longer with you. But, what a blessing to have had him. I am thankful for every day that I have my precious angel. My thoughts, my prayers and my thanks are with you and Baxter. You are both amazing and I thank God for you.

    Reply
  • 55. Bonnie  |  October 21, 2009 at 8:11 am

    I am a retired ER RN and had been involved in rescue for thirteen years. Baxter has touched my heart. His legacy will forever go on as he has touched many lives. And believe me, I know those lives were waiting for him at the other end of the Rainbow bridge. He blessed your lives and others. And I thank you for saving him. A dog is truely Man’s Best Friend! God Bless you and your family. Baxter has left his pawprints all over our hearts!

    Reply
  • 56. Sylvia Jaramillo  |  October 21, 2009 at 6:20 pm

    I am truly saddened for your loss… but what a life you and him had together, you set a great example to all of us who have dogs that we adore. Sylvia from Costa Rica

    Reply
  • 57. Lani Smith  |  October 21, 2009 at 7:31 pm

    Melissa,

    Inside my head, I can hear your voice from one of your interviews saying that Baxter is a luv dog, spelled L-U-V. I am so fortunate to have known Baxter, you, and Dennis. My dog, Ruff, and I are holding you in our hearts.

    Lani

    Reply
  • 58. NJReader  |  October 22, 2009 at 2:50 pm

    To Melissa, Dennis and Friends of Baxter,

    I have just learned about the remarkable Baxter. To say that my heart is broken to learn his loss is an understatement. I didn’t have to know him to see the trust and love in his eyes. You were all extremely lucky to have a life with each other, but then you know that. Thank you for a lifetime of sharing Baxter with others. He brought immeasurable joy and peace to the world. Rest in Peace, dear Baxter. God Bless all of you.

    In sympathy-NJReader (Sandy)

    Reply
  • 59. Alessandro  |  October 23, 2009 at 12:59 pm

    An Angel may have 4 legs, eternal life for BAXSTER !!!!!!

    Reply
  • 60. Nadine  |  October 24, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Dear Melissa & Dennis- I’m so sorry to read about Baxter’s passing – what a blessing he was to you & your family & to the many patients he visited. May his memories be with you always and thank you for sharing him with all of us.
    Run free sweet Baxter…
    With deep sympathy,
    Nadine

    Reply
  • 61. Joy Schwertley  |  October 26, 2009 at 9:59 am

    Dearest Melissa and Dennis

    Baxter’s love and devotion touched my soul when I saw the video 2 weeks ago. We know that we will meet our doggies at the Rainbrow bridge. Baxter is now out of pain and running with the wind.

    May you be blessed with lots of happy memories and I pray that you both start your healing process.

    God bless you both

    Reply
  • 62. Cheryl McKelvey  |  October 26, 2009 at 2:09 pm

    I am so sorry of Baxter passed away and he is now in Rainbow Bridge with my beloved dog, Angel (died in March 2009)..I am heart broke already..His memories will be with you as always..He can run and play with all the dogs….

    Reply
  • 63. Sandra Fox  |  October 26, 2009 at 6:24 pm

    Baxter brought so much love to everyone. You are a special gift from god, now you are with him. Bless you. Everytime i visit your website i get more and more attached to you even tho you have no idea. Im sure there are many like me and every time i watch your videos I too cry.

    puppy love always
    Sandra

    Reply
  • 64. Gwen Delaney  |  November 3, 2009 at 5:47 pm

    My heart broke when I learned about Baxter’s passing. What a truely remarkable dog. You are so lucky to have had him in your lives for 19 1/2 years. I would have loved to known him and I am so thankful that you shared his story with all of us, such a beautiful story. Heaven holds a special place for Baxter and I am sure he is running and playing.

    Thank you and God Bless you,
    Gwen

    Reply
  • 65. Jean Harvey  |  November 3, 2009 at 7:15 pm

    Dear, dear little Baxter…he is with the Spirit Angels now. God Bless him!
    Love and Light

    Jean xx

    Reply
  • 66. Cassandra  |  November 3, 2009 at 8:31 pm

    Well done, good and faithful servant………… God Bless you, Baxter!!!

    Reply
    • 67. baxieboo  |  November 4, 2009 at 8:37 am

      Yesterday, I was meeting w/the VP of San Diego Hospice and I loved the remark she made @the end of the meeting: “Baxter is
      the Ambassador of Hospice.

      Does that say it all or what?

      Reply
  • 68. Judy  |  November 5, 2009 at 3:38 pm

    He really is an angel. You can see it in his eyes.

    Reply
  • 69. Ann Yandle  |  November 5, 2009 at 3:45 pm

    Baxter’s demonstration of unconditional love and purity has touched my soul’s core. What an extraordinary being he was and still is as he captures the hearts of all who learn about him. Please know that by sharing Baxter with the world, you have brought light and love into many many hearts. Thank you for your generosity and I will hold Baxter in my mind as a Master of Light and as my teacher.

    Reply
    • 70. baxieboo  |  November 5, 2009 at 10:52 pm

      I would say that when Baxter left a room the light he gave shined brightly long after he was gone. Thank you for your beautiful,
      passionate response. Hugs to you, Melissa, Baxter’s mom

      Reply
  • 71. Annie  |  November 13, 2009 at 11:49 pm

    Thank you for your love and service. What a good dog!

    Reply
    • 72. baxieboo  |  November 14, 2009 at 8:55 am

      Thank you. He wore a charm on one of his necklaces that said, “Good Dog”. Very special what you said.

      Reply
  • 73. Annie  |  November 14, 2009 at 12:42 pm

    I have spent a major amount of my life, the last few years in and out of hospitals. I use to dream of an animal visiting me. Now I just do creative visualization with my past animals. May I add Mr. B to my mind?
    Thank you for sharing Baxter with so many, blessings to you in your time of sorrow.

    Reply
  • 74. Elaine Duddy  |  November 24, 2009 at 4:24 pm

    I just wanted you to know that I think what you Baxter did was so amazing and I decided to name my new cockapoo puppy Baxter in honor of him. I have thought about bringing him to the nursing home when he gets bigger to cheer up the older folk. I hope I can take some inspiration from you and Baxter.
    My 15 year old cockpoo Roscoe passed away on Oct. 4, 2009 so I know what you are going through.
    God Bless!
    Elaine Duddy

    Reply
    • 75. baxieboo  |  November 24, 2009 at 6:34 pm

      I’m both flattered and honored that you would name your little guy after Baxter. Too, I’m so sorry for your loss. I just can’t seem to bring myself
      to rescue a little guy/girl right now. I’m still too consumed with Baxter and his love.

      I appreciate your sharing so very much.

      Melissa, Baxie’s mom

      Reply
      • 76. Elaine Duddy  |  November 24, 2009 at 8:12 pm

        Melissa,
        If you go on my wall on facebook (elainerandellduddy) you will see a photo of our Baxter.
        I admire you so much for how you shared Baxter with people in need. There should be more people in the world like you.
        Please take all the time you need to heal. It’s not something you can rush. Previously, we lost a male yorkiemalt to a hit and run accident behind our house. It was a month after my mom died of ovarian cancer. I didn’t think I would ever get over her passing or Scooters and I haven’t. It just has gotten easier. The memories are always there.
        Happy Thanksgiving!
        Elaine Duddy

      • 77. baxieboo  |  November 24, 2009 at 10:11 pm

        Reading your words really does help. No one is immune to loss, pain, sorrow, or emptiness/loneliness. I’m not special, but Baxter was!

  • 78. Beverly Suttle  |  December 24, 2009 at 2:34 am

    Thanks so much for sharing Baxter. He was truly a hero,angel and selfless. I know he had a good mommy!! And praise to him for giving such comfort and love to those in need. And again, Thanks for the video’s of him to show to the world. He will be missed! May he rest in peace……

    Reply
  • 79. Rebecca  |  December 29, 2009 at 1:53 pm

    When I first viewed the FB video of Baxter as the Ambassador of Hospice was so moving, it brought tears to my eyes. Now my eyes are overflowing with tenderness and regret for not learning sooner of Baxter’s travel over the Rainbow Bridge. There is nothing like a bond of a loving rescue, and the love, hope, joy and peace they bring to humans. No one is more of a witness and testaments to Baxter’s remarkable abilities than you are … he was a gentle spirit, and you contributed to that tenderness with your love and care of him for 19 1/2 yrs. The void left after a 4-legged fur child passes is huge, but the loving and joyful memories round the edges. Many families, those you met and those you have not, thank you for touching our lives by sharing Baxter.

    Reply
    • 80. baxieboo  |  December 29, 2009 at 7:59 pm

      Rebecca, Thank you for your generous spirit. I appreciate your words. I have found that by my rescuing Jezebel that I am actually continuing all that love
      that’s inside me. I intend for her to become another Ambassador of Hospice. Instead of being King Baxter, she will become Queen Jezebel. Right now,
      though, she’s a princess in training.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

October 2009
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Most Recent Posts


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

